advertisement


Business news
You are here: ninemsn > Money > Business news

New changes program Facebook to overshare

By MSN NZ staff
12:00 AEST Sun Oct 2 2011
Facebook's latest changes could have some embarrassing consequences. (AAP)
Related articles

Facebook users have been warned about the social network’s potential to reveal embarrassing connections to porn websites once a new timeline feature goes live in the coming weeks.

The timeline feature being rolled out means users will have an on-going record of their activities published on their page. This also means friends could see the sites you would rather not have them know you visited.

If people have clicked the "like" button on porn websites, or ever used their Facebook details to sign into porn sites, then all of that will be recorded on your timeline, technology blog Techwag reports.

Techwag blogger Rmorrill said the multi-billion dollar adult industry is going to get more involved with social media and said he was surprised to see a couple of porn sites knew who he was when he logged onto Facebook Connect.

Mashable.com has already written about the embarrassing dangers of the new feature, warning people that there could be serious privacy concerns if users are letting apps put information at the click of a button on their pages.

It said giving apps unrestricted access to your page means that it could be tracking and automatically sharing every move you make without you even knowing about it.

Mashable's Peter Cashmore said: "It could be the news articles you read online, the videos you watch, the photos you view, the music you listen to, or any other action within the site or App. Facebook calls this auto-sharing 'Gestures'."